PhD submitted / Dandelion launch

 

I am very happy to say that last week – after four years’ work – I submitted my PhD. Given how short a time the physical copy was in my company (between the bookbinders in Finsbury Park and the thesis submission desk at Royal Holloway), I managed to take a good number of photos of it! A couple of pages, below, give a sense of the blurb and contents, if anybody is curious about what I’ve been working on…

 

 

Last night was also the launch of Dandelion’s special issue on ecology (vol 4., no. 2, 2013). The entire issue is now available online here, including a report on the Silent Spring conference (at which I gave my paper ‘Technology and “Tongues in Trees”: Modern British Poetry and Late Twentieth Century Forestry’), as well as a review by Natalie Joelle of my exhibition Time, the deer, is in the wood of Hallaig, available here. Also, my little experimental diagram sequence, Suckers, is published here in the journal, alongside work by George Ttoouli, Dez Mendoza, and Emily Candela. At the launch party last night I gave a short talk about standardised environmental languages, and read some new work, including the forthcoming chapbook GLOSS (2014) and the sequence GLITCH (cover image below). Thanks to editors Sophie Jones and Fiona Johnstone!

 

glitch image

 

Next: a few book reviews and articles, but mostly, jobhunting…

~ by Amy Cutler on December 13, 2013.

2 Responses to “PhD submitted / Dandelion launch”

  1. All the very best with your PhD, Amy! I’ve been following your work for ages. It’s brill. I was sad to miss sending you some work for Hallaig.

  2. Many congratulations :) Your work has always fascinated me from afar and it’s great to see it all come together. Best wishes for the viva and everything else in 2014. K

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers

